Shiffman Medical Library

Article Databases

Accounting, Taxation, & Business Law

  • American Bankruptcy Institute: With more than 11,000 members, the ABI is the largest multi-disciplinary, non-partisan organization dedicated to research and education on matters related to insolvency. Founded in 1982 to provide Congress and the public with unbiased analysis of bankruptcy issues, ABI is the premier professional organization in the field. Members include attorneys, accountants, auctioneers, judges, lenders, academics, turnaround specialists, credit professionals and many others. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library)
  • Bloomberg BNA: Off-campus access login required Presents the Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (BNA), based in Washington, D.C. Posts contact information via mailing address, toll-free telephone number, fax number, and e-mail. BNA is a publisher of print and electronic news and information. Contains daily news stories. Discusses customer support services and the company's subsidiaries. Offers information on BNA's business products, health care products, human resources products, legal products, and tax products. (Available only in the Law School and Library or remotely to Law School students, faculty and staff.)
  • Business Source Complete: (EbscoHost) Off-campus access login required With more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete is THE database for journal articles from all disciplines of business. Also includes additional full text content including financial data, books, conference proceedings, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
  • CCH Intelliconnect: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source providing accounting, tax, business, intellectual property, estate planning, health care, labor and employment, government contracting and securities law and analysis. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials such as treatises and news as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Research, customization, news tracking, citation and practice tools are also available via this service.
  • Gale business resources: (Gale) Off-campus access login required A research database that integrates Gale's business and industry reference works. It contains abstracts and references for business and management topics, including directory listings for over 467,000 U.S. and international companies and extensive essays for 1,100 industrial catagories, industry statistics, market share reports, and company rankings. In addition 4,000 company histories and 1,500 company chronologies are availalble for the most prominent businesses in the world.
  • HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database: Off-campus access login required FILRD provides access to international law (relationships between countries) publications including International Yearbooks and Serials, U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and other significant works related to foreign and international law. Sources include the American Society of International Law, the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice, International Arbitral Awards as well as International Courts of Arbitration.
  • Index to legal periodicals: (Ebscohost) Off-campus access login required International coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This database contains materials from 1981 to the present. For earlier materials, see Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school.)
  • JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections): (JSTOR) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
  • LegalTrac: (Gale) Off-campus access login required LegalTrac is the web-based version of the print Current Law Index. Access to major legal periodicals includes indexing (to help you identify relevant articles) for more than 1500 law reviews, legal newspapers and journals as well as over 250 full text titles. This source also contains law related articles from general and business publications. Updated daily and covering 1980 to the present, search templates include basic, subject guide, publication and advanced search methods.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe: (Lexis-Nexis) Off-campus access login required Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
  • Philosopher's Index: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
  • Public Administration Abstracts: Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • RIA Checkpoint: Off-campus access login required A comprehensive source for United States financial and tax research. Federal and state legislative, statutory, regulatory and case law and analytical materials as well as authoritative explanations from the editorial staff are available. Tax planning and compliance materials include pension & benefits, estate planning, payroll, accounting, audit and corporate finance. The RIA Citator 2d and Warren Gorham & Lamont tax journals are also included in this database.
  • Wall Street Journal (current): (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty Access to current editions of the Wall Street Journal. 1984 to present. Pre-194 access is available from the Wall Street Journal Historical edition.
  • Wall Street Journal Historical Full-Text: (ProQuest) Off-campus access login required Licensed for retired faculty The Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
  • WorldTradeLaw.net: A searchable database containing information which provides detailed summaries and commentaries on WTO Panel and Appellate Body Reports. Each document provides a basic summary of the panel's or Appellate Body's legal findings and conclusions, a timeline, references to other reports and materials, and expert analysis on many of the key issues in the report. There is also access to the full text of the Panel and Appellate Reports. (Access restricted to the computers in the law library and law school. See reference desk for access.)

More Resources

Shiffman Medical Library
Wayne State University
Mazurek Medical Education Commons
320 E. Canfield St.
Detroit, MI 48201
(313) 577-1094