Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Art & Art History
-
America: history and life:
(EbscoHost)
Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
-
Amica Art Library:
(Cartography Associates)
The AMICA Library contains works of art from the collections of prominent museums worldwide. Cultures and time periods range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. Types of works include paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as textiles, costumes, jewelry, decorative art, books and manuscripts. This is a subscription based collection.
-
AP Images:
The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as ... international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive, and remain there for a minimum of one year. Specially trained indexers select the best 200 or so photos each day to save for all time, while the remainder are eliminated from the Photo Archive after 12 months.
(*delete your cache files* before entering the new site *For Mac Users* - AP Images is compatible with Mac OS 10 only (not 9.0) and you must have the latest version of Safari browser. It also works with FireFox browser for Mac.)
-
Art Abstracts:
(Wilson)
Covers more than 250 key international, English-language arts publications, includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and so forth.
-
Art bibliographies modern:
(ProQuest)
Modern and contemporary art, photography and design
-
Art images for college teaching:
AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
-
Artcyclopedia:
An index of artists, image archives, links form well-known artists and other online resources.
-
ArticleFirst:
(FirstSearch)
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
-
Arts & humanities citation index:
(ISI)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
-
British humanities index:
(ProQuest)
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities.
-
Camio:
Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a resource of works of art from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. Showcasing a wide range of fine and decorative art, CAMIO provides high-quality art images for education, research and enjoyment. All content is rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
(You can provide your users with high-quality art images from leading museums through CAMIO®—Catalog of Art Museum Images Online. It offers content that is rights-cleared for educational use. Available as a subscription providing unlimited access. (Note taken from OCLC website).)
-
Expanded academic ASAP:
(Gale)
Access to index of recent periodicals and some full-text articles.
-
FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases):
(FirstSearch)
Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
-
Index of Christian art:
Contains all of the works electronically indexed by the archive since 1991 when computerization started. The database does not contain works which are dated after 1400 AD. The term Christian art is broadly construed and is not restricted to art produced within ecclesiastical contexts or theological in theme.
-
Iter bibliography:
Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections):
(JSTOR)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
-
MLA bibliography:
(ProQuest)
MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) is the largest and most comprehensive database covering current scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, and folklore. MLA BIBLIOGRAPHY (online) corresponds to the printed annual bibliography of the Modern Language Association.
-
Project Muse:
(Project Muse)
A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
Reader's Guide Retrospective:
(Wilson)
Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. This Phase One coverage includes the years [current as of 8/28/02] 1963 through 1982.
-
SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales/Auction Catalogs:
(FirstSearch)
Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs is the only online union catalog of auction catalog records in existence. This database provides bibliographic access to auction sales catalogs from all major North American and European auction houses as well as private sales—valuable sources of information on the provenance of art objects and rare books, the history of collection, and contemporary and historical market trends.
-
SIRS Renaissance:
Provides dynamic information on the following topics: architecture and design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, and visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,200 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs, and illustrations.
-
Theatre in Video:
(Alexander Street Press)
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video—more than 500 hours in all. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been painstakingly licensed from a wide range of copyright holders.
-
WSU General Art Collection:
Features over 6,000 art and architectural images licensed from Scholars Resource, an image archive for the teaching of art history. Includes important works from over 100 museums worldwide. Images are made available through Luna software, giving users the ability to easily create presentations and slideshows.
(To access the Saskia collection enter your WSU access id and password)
More Resources