Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Geology
-
ACM Digital Library:
This site provides subscribers with access to ACM journals and magazines, as well as conference proceedings.
-
ACS Publications:
This web page provides access to the electronic full-text of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by ACS. Select either Journals and magazines or Search the journals to get to the list of titles available.
-
Compendex:
Compendex covers broad subject areas of engineering and applied science. Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering.
-
Ebrary:
eBrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
-
Engineering village 2:
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks.
-
ENGnetBASE:
Consists of a compilation of essential engineering information, including data, facts, figures, graphs, equations, illustrations, and charts. It covers the disciplines of general engineering, structural engineering, mobile communications, remediation engineering, optomechanical engineering, measurement, instrumentation and sensors, communications, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, technology management, digital signal processing, environmental engineering, and civil engineering.
-
ENVIROnetBASE:
ENVIROnetBASE: Environmental Sciences Electronic Library provides access to ebooks containing facts, figures, charts, tables, illustrations, even formulas and rules of thumb on topics related to environmental science. Topics relate to the following subjects: pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination. This resource includes descriptions of new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring.
-
Environmental contaminants encyclopedia:
Environmental Contaminants Encyclopedia summarizes information about contamination that effect fish, wildlife, invertebrates, and other non-human living resources with an emphasis on environmental toxicology. Some human research is also included. It contains information on 118 topics, including 30 entries covering the oil products most commonly spilled into fresh and marine waters of the U.S., according to the EPA, and 63 entries covering other oil-related topics.
-
GeoREF:
(Proquest)
Covering the geology of North America from 1785 and that of the rest of the world from 1933. Topics covered include geophysics and structural geology, economic geology, minerals and petroleum, palaeontology and stratigraphy, engineering and environmental geology, geomorphology, soils and quaternary geology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, hydrogeology, geochemistry, aerial geology and maps.
-
Haz-Map:
Haz-Map is an occupational toxicology database of occupational diseases and their symptoms that interrelates chemicals, jobs and diseases. The Haz-Map Jobs table is based on the 1997 Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) system. The Industries table is based on the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. The Diseases table is based on the International Classification of Diseases (ICD-9). Information from relevant textbooks, journal articles, and electronic databases are included.
-
HazDat database:
HazDat, the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry's Hazardous Substance Release/Health Effects Database, and includes: site characteristics, activities and site events, contaminants found, contaminant media and maximum concentration levels, impact on population, community health concerns, ATSDR public health threat categorization & recommendations, environmental fate of hazardous substances, exposure routes, and physical hazards at the site/event.
-
IEEE Xplore:
(IEEE)
Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
-
INSPEC:
Inspec, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains the world's scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database contains scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings from 1969 to the present.
-
IOP Science:
(Institute of Physics)
A platform for IOP-hosted journal content. It provides site-wide access to scientific, technical and medical content, and incorporates some of the most innovative technologies to enhance the user-experience.
-
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology:
The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
-
Knovel Library:
Knovel provides a one-stop e-book source for finding answers to science and engineering questions. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering.
-
MathSciNet:
(AMS)
Consists of reviews and citations to the world's research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
-
NTIS:
The NTIS database consists of unclassified U.S. government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports. An increasing proportion of the database consists of unpublished material originating outside the U.S. from Western Europe and Japan. The database corresponds to several printed publications, including Government Reports Announcements & Index.
-
Optics InfoBase (Optical Society of America):
Features the Optical Society of America (OSA) publications, the world's leading publisher of optics information, based in Washington, D.C.
-
PAIS International:
(ProQuest)
Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
-
Polymers: a property database:
Polymers provides scientific and commercial information on polymers from primary literature via reference citations and though supplier details by providing trade names and commercial product information. Searches can be done by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. It provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers.
-
Royal Society of Chemistry:
(Royal Society of Chemistry)
Includes news, contact and membership information, a conference diary, employment services, divisional activities, meetings, and career advice. Also includes books, projects, magazines, educational resources, and chemistry specialties. Links to the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC).
-
ScienceDirect:
(Elsevier)
A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
-
Web of Science:
(ISI)
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
More Resources