Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Social Sciences
-
America: history and life:
(EbscoHost)
Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
-
Electronic collections online:
(FirstSearch)
A searchable database of a growing collection of journals in a variety of subject areas.
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections):
(JSTOR)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
-
Oxford African American Studies Center:
(Oxford University Press)
The Oxford African American Studies Center is a comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
ScienceDirect:
(Elsevier)
A Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts and the full text of more than 1000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences.
-
Sociological Abstracts:
(ProQuest)
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1963 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
-
Web of Science:
(ISI)
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
-
WorldCat:
(FirstSearch)
Over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
More Resources