Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
Political Science
-
America: history and life:
(EbscoHost)
Online version of: America: history and life. Includes full-text of hundreds of journals originally published in paper.
-
ArticleFirst:
(FirstSearch)
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
-
Columbia International Affairs Online:
(CIAO)
CIAO includes original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
(ILL Allowed. Print or Electronic copies.)
-
CQ public affairs collection:
The CQ Public Affairs Collection is a database that brings together information on current affairs. Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings, the CQ Public Affairs Collection features reports on vital issues, statistical and historical analysis, historic documents and primary source materials. There is also a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
-
CQ Researcher:
The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
-
Expanded academic ASAP:
(Gale)
Access to index of recent periodicals and some full-text articles.
-
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context:
(Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
-
General reference center gold:
(Gale)
Index with abstracts and many full-text articles from general interest magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias.
-
GPO monthly catalog:
Consists of over 380,000 records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. Updated monthly.
-
Historical abstracts:
(EbscoHost)
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present. Coverage is identical to the expanded edition of the CD-ROM version.
-
JSTOR (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X and XI Collections):
(JSTOR)
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. WSU currently subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VII, IX, X and XI Collections.
-
Left index.:
(Ebscohost)
The Left Index is a complete guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. It is a good place to find significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, are also covered.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
-
PAIS International:
(ProQuest)
Formerly PAIS Decade, this database provides indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs.
-
Polling the nations:
This is a compilation of questions and responses from more than 12,000 national, state, local and special surveys, conducted by 700 polling organizations in the United States and 70 other countries from 1986 through the present. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by subject matter, publication year, location, and survey method. Other information provided includes: source name and contact information, sample population.
-
Project Muse:
(Project Muse)
A searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses.
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
ProQuest Statistical Insight:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
-
Reader's Guide Retrospective:
(Wilson)
Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. This Phase One coverage includes the years [current as of 8/28/02] 1963 through 1982.
-
USA.gov:
USA.gov is a virtual system that allows Internet users to search millions of U.S. Government web pages without having to know where that information lives. USA.gov allows people to navigate through government web pages using topic listings, key word(s) searches, or by clicking to executive, legislative, and judicial sites. It contains links to state and local government web pages. USA.gov also provides a means for people to give feedback to agencies and to USA.gov itself.
-
Web of Science:
(ISI)
Online version of the ISI indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index from 1975-. A search can be limited to one index (i.e. Science Citation Index OR Social Science Citation Index).
-
World almanac and book of facts:
Topics covered include arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computers, and taxes.
-
World Factbook:
An annual publication by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States with basic information about the various countries of the world. ,
-
Worldwide political science abstracts:
(ProQuest)
The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
More Resources