Shiffman Medical Library
Article Databases
General & Multidisciplinary
-
Academic Onefile:
(Gale)
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
-
African American Experience:
(ABC-CLIO)
An online collection on African American life, The African American Experience is an electronic research tool for African American history and culture. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
-
American Indian Experience:
(ABC-CLIO)
The American Indian Experience offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From Pre-contact to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida, AIE is meant for anyone wishing to learn more about America's Native Peoples.
-
ArticleFirst:
(FirstSearch)
Contains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
-
Biography in Context:
(Gale)
Biography in Context delivers research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. A resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily. In it you'll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.
-
Books in print:
(Bowker)
Online database of bibliographic records. Indexes nearly 1.5 million titles currently in print, out of print (or soon to be published) from over 44, 000 North American publishers and distributors. Search by author, title, subject, ISBN, keyword, etc.
-
ContentsFirst:
(FirstSearch)
Contains the complete table of contents information from more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
-
CQ Researcher:
The CQ Library is a subscription-only service that provides Web access to CQ weekly and the CQ researcher.
-
Daily Life Through History:
(ABC-CLIO)
A searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present A virtual library of thousands of diverse sources: award-winning reference works, primary documents, illustrations, maps A key resource supporting courses in American history and literature.
-
Detroit free press:
(Proquest)
Full text of the Detroit Free Press.
-
Digital Sanborn Maps:
(ProQuest)
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970. Michigan Only. The Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire maps for over 100 years, repeatedly mapping towns and cities as they changed. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, house numbers, and more for cities mapped in the state of Michigan.
-
Ebrary:
eBrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
-
Ebscohost eBook Collection:
(Ebscohost)
A searchable collection of electronic books.
-
Encyclopedia Americana:
Online version of the Encyclopedia Americana
-
FirstSearch (All FirstSearch databases):
(FirstSearch)
Comprehensive parent database of databases. Enables the user to search nearly any topic from academic and professional journals within each database. Choose any subject or topic to be searched once the database is chosen. Includes journal database (ECO).
-
Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context:
(Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
-
Gale's ready reference shelf:
(Gale)
Gale's Ready Reference Shelf provides directory listings for associations, research centers, publishers, and publications (newspapers, newsletters, , periodicals, directories, databases, television and radio stations). Includes: Encyclopedia of Associations: National (U.S.), International, and Regional, State, and Local Organizations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Gale Directory of Databases; Directory of Libraries and Information Centers; Research centers directories.
-
General Onefile:
(Gale)
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily
-
General reference center gold:
(Gale)
Index with abstracts and many full-text articles from general interest magazines, newspapers, and encyclopedias.
-
Grolier online:
GME offers rich multimedia content provides factual information, overviews of broad subjects, links to relevant sites, graphics, sounds, maps. Encyclopedia Americana, geared to the sophisticated user, contains articles, bibliographies, tables, graphics, links to relevant sites, maps and flags.
-
Latino American experience:
(ABC-CLIO)
Wide-ranging and easy to use, LAE is the first full-text database focusing on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. Its content spans from the pre-Columbian Indigenous civilizations of the Americas, through the Spanish and Mexican settlement of much of what is now the United States, to the triumphs and challenges facing present-day U.S. Latinos.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.
-
Library Press Display:
Over 250 same-day newspapers from 55 countries in their original format. Backfile includes last 60 days.
-
OmniFile Full Text Select:
(Ebscohost)
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select is a multidisciplinary, full text article database, with accompanying indexing and abstracts. Content from over 3,000 publications is selectively compiled from numerous Wilson Full Text periodical databases including coverage for Art, Applied Science & Technology, Biological & Agricultural, Education, General Science, Humanities, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide, Social Sciences, Business Full Text and Index to Legal Periodicals & Books.
-
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography:
Oxford DNB provides 50,000 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. Search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by themes combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB an important reference site.
-
Oxford English Dictionary:
(Oxford University Press)
Electronic version of: Oxford English dictionary, 2nd ed., New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
-
Oxford reference online. Premium:
(Oxford University Press)
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Main screen contains quick search capability. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
(Access is Limited to 5 concurrent users. Try back in a few minutes if you cannot access this resource immediately.)
-
ProQuest Research Library:
(ProQuest)
Includes citations and articles - many full text - on a broad range of topics including arts, business, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests from a mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
-
ProQuest Statistical Insight:
(Lexis-Nexis)
Provides abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983. Incorporates ASI subject and keyword searching. Full text or web links provided for some citations.
-
Reader's Guide Retrospective:
(Wilson)
Readers' guide retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. This Phase One coverage includes the years [current as of 8/28/02] 1963 through 1982.
-
World almanac and book of facts:
Topics covered include arts and entertainment, U.S. cities and states, people in the news, the nations of the world, sports, the environment, vital statistics, science and technology, computers, and taxes.
-
World Factbook:
An annual publication by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States with basic information about the various countries of the world. ,
More Resources